Community Action Board

The Community Action Board (CAB) is a board representing a number of public, private and low-income interests. SETA, as the designated Community Action Agency for Sacramento County, receives Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) funds from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services through California’s Department of Community Services and Development. SETA administers CSBG programs with the advice of the Community Action Board.

The Community Action Board is comprised of twelve members, with four members representing each of three constituent groups: 1) Public Officials or their representatives; 2) Private Sector, consists of business, industry, labor, religious groups, welfare, education, or other major groups and interests in the community; and 3) Low Income Sector, or representatives of the poor residents within the Community Action Board jurisdiction. For information on current meetings, see AGENDAS.

Application/Appointment Process

Public Officials and organizations wishing to apply for membership on the Community Action Board (CAB) are asked to fill out an application form available at 925 Del Paso Blvd., Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95815, Attention Julie Davis-Jaffe (916-263-3929). Completed applications should be returned to SETA. Organizations are selected for membership on the CAB by the SETA Governing Board.

2018 Meeting Schedule

All meetings are held in SETA’s Board Room, 10:00 a.m.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Membership Roster

Denise Nelson, Head Start Policy Council
(Low Income Sector)

Anthony Garcia, Child Action, Inc.
(Private Sector)

Sam Starks, SMUD

Private Sector

California Community Credit Union
Representative: Donald A. Migge
Alternate: Paul Stanbrough

United Way
Representative: Donna Mobley

Sacramento Food Bank and Family Services
Representative: Genevieve Levy
Alternate: Jeremiah Rhine

Public Sector

Sacramento Housing & Redevelopment Agency
Representative: LaShelle Dozier

Sacramento Municipal Utility District
Representative: Sam Starks

Sacramento Public Library
Representative: Rivkah Sass

Low Income Sector

Women’s Empowerment
Representative: Lisa Culp

Head Start Policy Council
Representative: Kenneth Tate
Alternate: Charles Taylor